top of page
Search

How to Prepare for a successful Photography Shoot.



Now almost 3 years working as a freelance photographer, I have developed my own process of preparing for a shoot to ensure that everything goes smoothly. I always take the time to prepare, that way I’m not stressed, satisfy the client and get on with enjoying my work as a photographer.


1. Initial meeting / discussion.

Some photographers have a form on their website which potential clients fill in to give the photographer an idea of what they’re looking for. I like to chat to the person directly, via text or on the phone. With a few short questions relating to type of photography, anything specific they want to be captured, what the images will be used for, preferred location(s) for the shoot and a timeframe of their availability. This way I can gauge the price based on the time estimate of how long I’ll need to capture what is needed and the number of photos needed. I aim to state the price early on in discussions so that the client knows my price range and its breakdown. I always try to be professional and friendly – there is nothing to be gained by being rude.


2. Study the model / business you are photographing.

This is my way of familiarizing myself with who or what I’m photographing. For a client whose face I’m photographing, I study their features, gauge what poses, and angles would be the most flattering. I also aim to get a sense of the person so I can match the locations to them, by looking at the clothes they wear for example. My goal is to make the client feel at ease while being photographed. I then make a Pinterest board and build up a folder of images that help me to formulate my ideas. These images are purely for reference, on the day the photos I take are entirely my own work. I call this the research stage and as a photographer you need to factor in this time into the price!


If it is a business I’m photographing – for example in the past I’ve photographed inside bars, a restaurant, for a chocolatier – I look up their website and social media. In this way I familiarize myself with the layout of the building or the products that are being sold. At this point I also make a Pinterest board.




3. Make a shot list.

How many shots are you aiming for? Plan a rough list to guide yourself through the shoot, in order if that makes it easier for you. You can stray away from this on the day if you like, it’s just beneficial to have something to refer to on the day to ensure there are no delays during the shoot.


4. Locations.

As I’m based in Limerick, any portrait / headshot shoots I do are mostly shot in Limerick city of the University of Limerick. I try to select different locations for every client so there is no overlap and that each shoot looks different. Of course, with a bit of photography wizardry and angles the same location can look very different. It is important to know whether the client is happy with indoor or outdoor photography. Factor in the weather always and I aim to map a route in a way that doesn’t have myself and the client walking around in circles around town wasting time.


If I am shooting for a business, in a specific building, I explore the room prior to beginning the shoot. Is there a table that has good lighting? Indoor or outdoor. If you have a aesthetic in mind, how does the location facilitate this? Ask staff to help if you’re not familiar with the venue, they’re usually happy to help.

5. Equipment.

I gather my equipment the night before. I choose the lenses appropriate for the shoot and decide whether I need to bring one of my tripods. Charge your batteries. Yes plural. I learned the hard way when I was starting out that you need more than one because they run out fast. I tend to bring my charger with me to ensure I’ve enough battery power for the entire shoot. I also bring my photography notebook where I’ve jotted notes and tips to help me out. I would recommend investing in a camera bag of some description to protect your gear. It is EXPENSIVE.



6. Editing – cutting down, selecting and editing.

YES, you factor this into your price as well – it takes time to cut down over two hundred photos into twenty photos that are of a high quality. I often look when I get from a shoot and cut down photos while the shoot is fresh in my mind. What to look for when cutting down photos? Blurry photos – cut them out. You likely won’t be able to salvage it in editing. Photos that look the same. No, you don’t need both. When sorting through photos from a photographer and model shoot, I cut out the photos that might be unflattering. It is important to keep a wide enough selection for the client to pick from.


7. Invoice and send images.

Photographers differ here. Some send invoices and wait to be paid before sending on the photography. There must be a level of trust here. For me so far, I’ve worked with people that I know are reliable so I’ve sent the invoice and the photos together. I include a note that the invoice has to be paid within two weeks and so far I haven’t had to chase anyone down for an invoice. This could happen though, and has happened to many photographers so always be careful.




66 views0 comments
bottom of page